News and Notes 190

R Foundation News

by Martin Mächler and Kurt Hornik

New R Foundation board

Subsequent to meetings of the R Foundation in the summer of 2014, and after a careful nomination and voting process, the election of a new board of the R Foundation was finalized on December 1. The new board consists of

Presidents: Duncan Murdoch, Martyn Plummer

Secretary General: Martin Mächler

Treasurer: Kurt Hornik

Members at Large: John Chambers, Brian Ripley, Dirk Eddelbuettel

Peter Dalgaard and Roger Bivand will serve as auditors.

Our many thanks go to the outgoing board members, who have led the R Foundation during the years of phenomenal growth and success since its creation in April 2003: These are Robert Gentleman and Ross Ihaka, our past presidents, and Friedrich Leisch, the former Secretary General.

New ordinary members

The following new ordinary members were elected, as announced on September 15.

Dirk Eddelbuettel, USA Torsten Hothorn, Switzerland Michael Lawrence, USA Martin Morgan, USA Marc Schwartz, USA Hadley Wickham, USA Achim Zeileis, Austria

This brings the total number of ordinary members to 29. As always, the complete membership list, along with other details, is available at http://www.r-project.org/foundation/.

Donations and new supporting members

Donations

Shannon Callan, USA Rees Morrison, USA Carlos Ortega, Spain

New supporting members

Jose M. Benitez, Spain Daniel Emaasit, USA Jay Emerson, USA Bastiaan Quast, Switzerland

¹https://stat.ethz.ch/pipermail/r-announce/2014/000577.html

NEWS AND NOTES 191

Martin Mächler ETH Zurich, Switzerland Martin.Maechler@R-project.org

Kurt Hornik WU Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Austria Kurt.Hornik@R-project.org